Dessert for one… Or maybe three

Cooking for one can be a bit of a pain.  I have so many bookmarked recipes that are for four or more people and not particularly easy to split.  I get bored eating the same thing several times in a row and my freezer is currently full (thanks to a recipe I tried out the other week that made enough food for 6-8 people… which I obviously didn’t forget to check before I started.  Ahem.), which I need to sort out before I start making soup for the winter.  Now I love crumbles, but all my recipes seem to be for large crumbles to feed at least six people.  I could probably eat a whole six-person crumble in one go all by myself… but just because you can doesn’t necessarily mean that it’s a good idea.  So I decided to try making myself a one-person crumble.  Cooking for one shouldn’t mean depriving oneself, it just means trying to adapt things to make smaller quantities.

I was originally going for a pear hazelnut crumble, but as I was rummaging around the fridge, I happened across an apple that was looking a little lonely all by itself, so I decided to make a two-person pear and apple hazelnut crumble.  The two-person crumble turned into a three-person crumble because the fruit turned out to be a tiny bit too much for just two ramekins.  So much for a one-person crumble…  Since I made them in ramekins it’s easy enough to just limit oneself to eating one at a time though, so it’s not much of an issue (otherwise I’d have just another spoonful, and just a little one more, and oh… where did the crumble go?  Woops.).

The flavours of pear, apple and toasted hazelnut complement each other so well, and are really the perfect autumnal combination.  I don’t think I’ve ever matched all three flavours together before, but I’ll definitely be trying the combination out again!  Since the hazelnut flavour in these crumbles absolutely shines through, I’m submitting this to this month’s AlphaBakes challenge, which is being hosted by Caroline Makes, because the random letter is “H” – H for hazelnut, but also for honey, which also features.  I’m not entirely sure whether the challenge is only for baked goods, or whether anything that has seen the inside of a hot oven is fair game.  I’m going with the latter…

Pear & apple hazelnut crumble

Serves 3
Recipe from my imagination

To toast the hazelnuts, spread them out on a baking tray, place in an oven pre-heated to 180°C and roast for 10 min, until they smell toasty (be sure to keep an eye on them so they don’t burn).  Rub the hazelnuts in a clean tea towel to remove most of the skins, and allow to cool fully before using.  I used a bosc pear and a braeburn apple since that’s what I had in the fridge.  If using a small apple and small pear, you could probably fit the slices into just two ramekins instead of three.  I always think that crumble is best served with pouring cream or ice cream.

Ingredients

40g flour
25g unsalted butter
4 heaped tsp light brown sugar
½ tsp ground cinnamon
20g porridge oats
20g toasted hazelnuts
1 medium apple
1 medium pear
2-3 tbsp Frangelico (hazelnut liqueur)
2-3 tbsp honey

Directions

1.  Add the sugar, flour and cinnamon to a medium-sized bowl.  Cut the butter into small cubes and rub into the sugar and flour until the mixture resembles breadcrumbs.

2.  Roughly chop the hazelnuts and stir into the crumble mixture with the porridge oats.  Set aside.

3.  Slice the apples and pears (you might need to cut the slices into two or three to fit them into the ramekins) and mix together.  Set out three ovenproof ramekins (mine are 0.2 litres) and split the apple and pear mixture between them.  Drizzle with about 1 tbsp of Frangelico per ramekin, followed by about 1 tbsp of honey, then top with the crumble mixture, evenly split between the three ramekins.  Don’t pat down the crumble mixture, but make sure that it covers the fruit more or less evenly.

4.  Place the ramekins on a baking tray and bake for 25-30 mins until the crumble is golden.  Serve immediately, accompanied by pouring cream or ice cream.

Enjoy!

11 Comments

Filed under Recipes, Sweet Foods

11 responses to “Dessert for one… Or maybe three

  1. underthebluegumtree

    Yum. I love the sound of Frangelico in a crumble. And seeing as a I have a big bottle of it loitering around (the remnants of another recipe) I might just have to give this a go.

    • Mel

      Ah yes, I think we all have a few bottles of various alcohols lying around after being used for just one recipe – at least I definitely do! The Frangelico is a very subtle addition, but it does add that little bit of hazelnut flavour to the fruit at the bottom so that the taste permeates all the way through the crumble.

  2. Thank for entering these to AlphaBakes – yes they definitely count! I love making individual sized desserts and crumbles are one of my favourites. I don’t think I’ve ever tried apple and pear together idea. These look great and the last picture says it all 🙂

    • Mel

      Thanks! Excellent – I wasn’t too sure whether crumbles would count. I’d never tried apple and pear together in a crumble either. No idea why though, since they go together so well! Looking forward to next month’s random letter…

  3. I love crumble and I usually just make a big one and find it lasts several days- well, a few days anyway! Love this recipe, thanks for entering it into Alphabakes.

    • Mel

      I’m impressed that you manage to make it last several days – I’d probably gobble it all up in one go because I have appalling self-control! Looking forward to next month’s AlphaBakes!

  4. strongassoup

    I love that addition of Frangelico – hazelnuts in a crumble is a fine thing. No crumble tends to last long in my experience. I seem to know people who not only eat it hot and freshly-made (as it should be) but will devour any leftovers cold – often for breakfast.

    • Mel

      Hazelnuts in crumble are indeed a fine thing, as is Frangelico – I’ll certainly be doing that again! Cold leftover crumble for breakfast…? How shocking – I’ve definitely never done that… *Cough* (A strong contender for best breakfast – I mean, uhm, I imagine it would be.)

  5. Love anything with frangelico in it :D! Love the idea of making individual portions.

  6. Food Stories

    I’ve enjoyed your site so I’m nominating you for the Illuminating Blogger Award for informative, illuminating blog content. I know not everyone participates in blog awards but I hope you’ll at least check it out because it’s a great way to discover new blogs, meet new web friends and pay it forward, so to speak. If you’re interested in participating, you can check out the details at my site … http://foodstoriesblog.com/illuminating-blogger-award/ … Hope you’re having a great day!

Share your thoughts…