Dear Dissertation, So long, and thanks for all the fish

If you follow my blog, you may have noticed that things have been pretty quiet lately.  The last few weeks have been pretty stressful, and pretty much entirely taken up with dissertating (definitely a word…), so I’m afraid I had to put the blog on hold for a little while.  Though I made an exception for the chocolate & marzipan biscuits for Easter and the Pimm’s cupcakes for the Royal Wedding.

The last three weeks or so have consisted of around 18 hours a day spent in the Biology computer lab, stressing out over statistical analyses, attempting to make sense of the outputs and results and then trying to coherently write it all up.  Fun times.  There was a core group of us, all 4th year Biologists, all dissertating away, slowly losing our sanity and swinging in and out of hysterical delirium, but all supporting each other through the whole process and somehow managing to all calm each other down when things were verging on becoming too stressful.  I think I can honestly say that if it wasn’t for them, I’m not sure I’d have made it through the last few weeks without having a nervous breakdown (so thanks guys – you know who you are!).

It’s all done now though – I handed my dissertation in this morning!  I would love to say that that’s it, it’s out of my life, I never have to think about it again, but I have to do a presentation about it next week and then I have a viva during which I have to defend my dissertation to two professors.  So it’s not quite out of my life just yet, but the most work-intensive part is over.  Hurrah!  I’m actually excited about being able to sleep for more than 4-5 hours tonight.

By the way, in case you’re wondering how my post title is relevant to anything, my dissertation was about elasmobranchs (sharks and rays) caught by the UK fishing fleet and was basically a comparison between the official landings statistics and a dataset collected through an observer scheme.  So I’ve spent a lot of time looking at a lot of data about a lot of fish.  And I’m glad it’s over!

3 Comments

Filed under Student Life

3 responses to “Dear Dissertation, So long, and thanks for all the fish

  1. Pingback: Mac Attack #18: Quadruple chocolate macarons | Sharky Oven Gloves

  2. Pingback: Sharky Oven Gloves turns one! | Sharky Oven Gloves

  3. Pingback: How to accidentally feed a small child caffeine… | Sharky Oven Gloves

Share your thoughts…

