Apple flamusse

Apple say what now?  Flamusse aux pommes is a Burgundian speciality.  Now, to be perfectly honest, I’m from a region right next to Burgundy and had never heard of a flamusse aux pommes until last weekend when I happened to be flicking through my trusty Larousse des desserts for ideas on how to make a slight apple surplus disappear.  Turns out that it’s effectively an apple clafoutis.

Apple flamusse 1

I added spices because A) I am pretty much incapable of baking without spices, particularly in winter, and B) it’s actually a crime not to pair apples with spices – I mean come on, apples are just crying out for cinnamon at the very least.  Since I’ve never eaten apple flamusse before, I’ve no idea how “traditional” this recipe is.  Frankly, I’m not particularly bothered because the results were marvellous, and it’s not my regional speciality that I’m messing with, so I’m not fiercely protective of it.  There was a terribly French, rather insouciant shrug happening whilst I wrote the latter part of that sentence.

Apple flamusse 2

AlphaBakesThis month’s special letter for the AlphaBakes challenge, which is being hosted by Caroline Makes, is “F.”  F for flamusse – how convenient!  That’s actually one of the reasons I ended up settling on this recipe – there are so many apple recipes out there that I was having a hard time choosing which one to try out.  It ended up being a rather excellent choice and came out scrumptiously delicious, provided you like flan-like textures (I know not everybody is into that sort of egginess).  Some rum-soaked raisins would no doubt make an excellent addition – I didn’t test that theory out as I didn’t think that would be quite appropriate for a Tuesday morning at the lab…

Apple flamusse 3

Apple flamusse

Serves 6-8
Adapted from Le Larousse des desserts

 

Pick a type of apple that will hold its shape when baking but isn’t too sweet – I used braeburns.  The flamusse can be served either warm or fully cooled, and will keep for a day or two.

Ingredients

4 apples (I used braeburn)
75g caster sugar
60g all-purpose flour
1 tsp ground cinnamon
¼ tsp ground cloves
Pinch of salt
3 eggs
500ml whole milk
Icing sugar, to serve

Directions

1.  Butter a 24cm round fluted tart tin.  Preheat the oven to 200°C/180°C.

2.  Peel and core the apples and finely slice them.  Lay the slices in overlapping concentric rings in the tart tin.  I like to alternate the direction of the apple slices from ring to ring, but that’s just personal preference.

3.  Sift the sugar, flour, spices and salt into a large mixing bowl.  In a small bowl, whisk the eggs together with a fork.  Add to the dry ingredients and mix with a spatula until completely smooth.  Stir in the milk a little at a time.

4.  Carefully pour the mixture over the apples (do this near the oven as the tin will be pretty full) and bake for about 45 mins until golden and cooked (if it looks really wibbly-wobbly, bake a little longer).  Allow to cool for 15-20 mins before turning out onto a plate (make sure you do it whilst the flamusse is still warm).  Sprinkle with icing sugar and serve warm or fully cooled.

Enjoy!

11 Comments

Filed under Recipes, Sweet Foods

11 responses to “Apple flamusse

  1. strongassoup

    I have come across the flamusse before (although without the spice) and personally I’m a big fan of the flan type of dessert. Yours looks absolutely lovely. The versions that I’ve seen before have all had sliced apples just like yours but I think I remember reading a Burgundian recipe book once that said that a true Burgundian would chop the apples into chunks for this dish. I don’t know any true Burgundians but I think the slices look lovely.

    • Mel

      Thanks Phil! Ah, that’s good to know if I ever end up serving one to a real Burgundian, although I do like the prettiness of the slices.

  2. You, add cinnamon to something? How unusual… You’re right though – apples cry out for a little bit of spice. Looks delicious – wish we had one of those for our Tuesday morning!

  3. I’ve never heard of flamusse, but this looks really delicious! I love how you’ve arranged the apple slices on top too. Thanks for sending it to Alphabakes!

  4. I love seeing what you come up with for AlphaBakes each month as it’s almost always bound to be something I’ve not heard of before or something unusual and you didn’t disappoint! This looks delicious , please pass them over :) Thanks for entering AlphaBakes.

  5. That looks beautiful! Can I substitute almond milk for the whole milk? We are lactose intolerant.

    • Mel

      Thank you! I’ve never tried baking with almond milk, so I don’t know for sure. However, I can’t really think of any reason that it wouldn’t? Having just read up about it a little, it seems that almond milk and whole milk are generally interchangeable for baking, though it may be worth adding an extra tbsp of flour to help it set – you probably have more experience of baking with it than I do! If you try it, do let me know how it turns out, I’m intrigued! :)

Share your thoughts…

