Sunday Smiles: Triathletes are bonkers

It’s a long weekend for us here in New Zealand because tomorrow (Monday) is Labour Day.  Which to me sounds like either everybody should be working really hard or having a baby (ya, no thanks).  But quite to the contrary, it’s a day off. Huzzah!  Too bad the weather hasn’t really cooperated – yesterday was pretty good, but today was dire.  And tomorrow looks like more of the same, which is annoying, but I won’t lie – there is something satisfying about waking up to the sound rain on the windows when you know you can stay in bed a little longer.

So my Sunday Smiles for this week are:

  • Are you on Pinterest?  I am, but only sporadically – I’m not sure how I feel about it.  So much of it seems… superficial. Perhaps it’s just that I’m not particularly crafty or creative or something.  So this rant article about Pinterest made me laugh – there’s a fair bit of truth in it (and some swearing, too).
  • Fact: life is short, and sometimes it’s also terrifying.  These ecard thingies are all over facebook, but this one really made me laugh: (Cartoon source)

  • Julia Gillard (Prime Minister of Australia) has been getting a lot of flak from the leader of the opposition, and this week she snapped and gave a rather vitriolic speech labelling him as a misogynist.  Apparently the speech wasn’t all that well received in Australia because of the context of the debate, but as a stand-alone speech dismantling her opponent, I take my hat off to her, regardless of her politics.
  • I came across this dialogue between a chemistry professor and his 3 year-old daughter.  Makes me feel better about not always understanding chemistry…
  • Oh my gosh, check out this video of lightning, filmed at 7,207 frames per second and then slowed down so that the 33 second video is actually about a tenth of a second of real time.  Anyway, I just think it’s totally awesome.  I may have watched it 5 times…
  • And finally, it’s been the ITU Triathlon World Championship Grand Final this weekend here in Auckland.  The women’s race was yesterday, and the men’s was today.  I shared the pool earlier with some triathletes who were warming up (great way to feel super unfit by the way – needless to say, I stayed well away from their lanes).  You know that dire weather that I mentioned?  Ya, I got caught in an utter deluge on my way home, which took me along part of the cycling route, so I took shelter under a convenient building awning and watched most of the cycling (didn’t help much with the whole feeling unfit thing…).  I’m obviously a total expert on the triathlon after London 2012, so it was pretty exciting to watch, as was the sprint finish between Brownlee and Gomez right at the end of the race (which I watched on TV).  I have no idea how they managed to bring out a sprint finish at the end of an exhausting race (Auckland is built on volcanoes, so there are plenty of steep hills all over the place – great fun to cycle/run up, obviously) in horrid weather conditions.  I can only conclude the triathletes are bonkers (in a good way).  Gomez won the actual race by 1 second, but Brownlee ended up winning the overall championship.  Go Team GB!  Here’s Jonny Brownlee leading the cycling pack in the pouring rain (the other Brownlee brother wasn’t competing):

What made you smile this week?

4 Comments

Filed under Sunday Smiles

4 responses to “Sunday Smiles: Triathletes are bonkers

  1. That lightning video is incredible, and I enjoyed the chemistry dialogue!

  2. That’s my favorite Somecard! Ha!
    I saw it on Pinterest ;-)
    And I do yell at people in German. I’m not German, nor do I speak German. Except for what I learned watching Indiana Jones. It adds to the confusion.

    • Mel

      Haha, of all places! :) I’m not German, and I don’t speak German either, but I also occasionally yell in German, too. One of the only things I can say is “ich bin ein kartoffel” which means “I’m a potato” – very helpful (and incredibly confusing to actual German-speakers).

Share your thoughts…

