Sunday Smiles: Flips, flops & snowdrops… Oh and the Olympics

This week saw the start of August.  I’ve no idea how time is managing to disappear so quickly, but I really wish it would slow down a bit!  Although spring and summer are definitely something to look forward to (I’m not sure when spring officially starts here, but it can’t be too far off…?).

Quite a few things made me smile this week, so I guess this week’s list of Sunday Smiles is fairly long, but I’ll try to keep the entries concise (and I might even succeed for once!  Ha.  Ha.  Ha.):

  • I mentioned last week that I missed the London 2012 Olympics Opening Ceremony because of time differences.  The guys in the lab showed me how I could watch any program that’s recently been aired on NZ freeview TV through a service that the university provides (so it’s perfectly legal), which is super handy.  For some reason I could only get the first two hours of the ceremony, until just before the torch was lit, but I managed to watch that bit on YouTube, so it’s ok.  I’ll be honest, I was expecting the ceremony to be a bit of a fiasco, but it was spectacular.  I cried at several points (I’m pathetic like that) and the Chariots of Fire/Mr Bean sketch and the Bond and the Queen segment with the corgis were utterly brilliant and probably my favourite bits.  (Image source)

  • Of course, after the opening ceremony comes the actual Olympics…  I haven’t really been watching any of it live because of the time difference, but one of the free-to-view TV channels here is entirely dedicated to Olympics coverage so we get the main highlights and re-caps throughout our daytime, and conveniently we can stream the channel through the university network (general productivity in the lab has plummeted this week).  Since there’s only one channel we don’t really get to choose what we want to watch, but this week has worked out fairly well (Sky is also showing the Olympics and I think there is more choice across their channels, but of course you need a subscription), with lots of rowing, sailing, swimming and gymnastics and a little bit of fencing, all of which I enjoy watching.  The coverage is obviously very Kiwi-centric, which means that I saw the men’s double sculls race four times on Friday (the Kiwis won gold in what was undeniably a fantastic race), but I’m ok with that, and it probably means I get a bit more work done since I can detach myself a bit more (maybe).
  • The surprise of my week came in the form of snowdrops.  I didn’t think that snowdrops existed here, since it hardly gets below freezing in winter and so on, but apparently they do.  And apparently they flower in late July/early August (mind blown – apparently I’m still not as used to the seasons here as I thought).  I adore snowdrops, so seeing a whole clump definitely made me smile, especially since they were so unexpected!

  • I requested Marian Keyes’ Saved by Cake from the library an age ago, and have been patiently making my way up the waiting list.  I was finally able to pick up a copy this week.  I think the book is aimed more at beginner bakers and loosely follows the author’s journey of learning to bake.  However, I found the introduction, in which Miriam talks a little about her (on-going) struggle with depression, to be a very interesting read.  And encouraging, too.  I’ll have to take a closer look at the recipes this week – there were a couple that caught my eye when I briefly flicked through them.
  • A new month means turning a page on my desk calendar.  My calendar has little funny ramblings every month and August’s has been making me laugh since I first flicked through the calendar before buying it.  Now I get to look at it almost every day for a month.  In case the photo isn’t too legible, this is what it says: “Know that invariably after a flop comes a flip* *Unless you inadvisably choose the open-toe sandal with sock approach to life when it would be fair to say you deserve whatever is coming to you.”  Ha ha.

  • Poor grammar is one of my pet peeves.  The correct placement of apostrophes and the differences between there/their/they’re and your/you’re aren’t exactly rocket science.  I’m not sure how I came across this video (warning: there’s some swearing), but it amused me greatly (and left me in awe of his speed rapping skills).  Plus I love the original song as well, even if the video is a bit odd.
  • I went to the Auckland leg of the NZ Food Show yesterday, and it was wonderful.  There were, of course, plenty of food stands, and lots of the odd wine stand.  I’ll be writing it up in a blog post so suffice to say that I had a great time…
  • And finally, how stunning are these colourful light art photos?  I particularly love the jellyfish one.  I’ve no idea how it’s done, but it’s amazing.

So.  About being concise… ya…  Good effort on the last few points, but not so much the ones about the Olympics…   Maybe next time.

What made you smile this week?

5 Comments

Filed under Sunday Smiles

5 responses to “Sunday Smiles: Flips, flops & snowdrops… Oh and the Olympics

  1. Pingback: White chocolate & hazelnut naked cupcakes | Sharky Oven Gloves

  2. Pingback: Sunday Smiles: Spring is on its way! | Sharky Oven Gloves

  3. Pingback: Sunday Smiles: A truthful calendar & discovering an island | Sharky Oven Gloves

Share your thoughts…

