Sunday Smiles: A rather film-centric week

Thank you to those of you who commented last week when I floated my idea for Sunday Smiles, my new blog feature – it was encouraging and uplifting, and you guys are the best!  So I’m going to carry on with Sunday Smiles, and I’ve decided to make a little logo icon thingy for it (helloooo excuse for procrastination).

Before I launch into this week’s list of things that I enjoyed, discovered and that made me smile, I should mention that the Olympics Opening Ceremony hasn’t made the list because I haven’t actually watched it yet – due to the time difference, it was on at 7am here and getting up at that time on a Saturday wasn’t such an attractive option, and I figured it would be available to watch again online.  It turns out that you need a Sky subscription to watch it again online though, so hmmmm…  Bummer.  I’m hoping somebody at the lab will have a solution for me tomorrow.  Fingers crossed, because I’ve heard amazing things about it.

So without further ado, my Sunday Smiles this week are:

  • I discovered free fonts this week, specifically on FontSpace.  Now, don’t laugh at me too much, but I learnt this week that you can download free fonts to your laptop and they’re really easy to install.  How did I not know this before??  I always thought it was a super complicated thing and that you had a to be a computer genius to do it.  Turns out not.  So I got really excited and used new fonts for the Sunday Smiles logo (called, get this, ‘shark in the water’ – amazing or what?!) and for the annotations on yesterday’s Random Recipes post.  I think I need to get out more…
  • The New Zealand International Film Festival started this week (well, technically last weekend).  I saw the documentary The last dogs of winter (trailer here)at the beginning of the week, which was all about the Qimmiq – Canada’s indigenous eskimo dog – and the effort to increase the numbers and popularity of this rare breed which numbered just 100 in the 1970s.  Cue some stunning filmography, lots of adorable dogs and, my favourite part, the dogs playing with polar bears.  I know.  Amazing.  It made me really miss having a dog though. (Poster source)
  • Another entry thanks to the NZIFF – I also saw Entre les Bras/Step up to the plate (trailer here), which was about the handover of the family hotel-restaurant from celebrated chef Michel Bras to his son Sébastien.  It was so good to hear French spoken (even if it was with a strong Southern French accent, which I always find amusing) and see such beautiful and mouth-watering food.  It made me miss France and good cheese though, not going to lie.
  • This has clearly been a very film-centric week because I managed to finally catch The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel which I missed when it came out just after I’d moved here, but it was being shown at the little arthouse cinema in town this week.  I know I’m several months behind with this, but I absolutely adored it!  So well written and well made, and particularly hilarious for anybody who’s ever spent time with Brits abroad – the characters were all remarkably realistic. (Poster source)
  • Finally, I got to my desk on Friday to find A Game of Thrones (the book) sitting on my desk.  Best surprise ever.  I’d mentioned a few days previously that I really wanted to read the books but the library waiting list is massive, so I’m still (impatiently) waiting for a copy and one of my labmates had the same issue, so he ended up going out and buying the book and let me borrow it.  It’s just as addictive as the TV series, and I’m already 150 pages in…  Only 650 to go (it’s the paperback version and actually the size of a brick, though thankfully not as heavy).  I’m thoroughly enjoying it, even though I know what happens, and it’s interesting to discover the little differences between the book and the TV series, though nothing major so far.

What made you smile this week?

PS – For next week, I’ll work on being a little more concise (not one of my life skills, in case you hadn’t noticed).

Leave a comment

Filed under Sunday Smiles

Share your thoughts…

