Introducing a new blog feature: Sunday Smiles

I have a confession (and it’s a bit of a heavy one).  I’ve been feeling a bit miserable lately.  And by lately I really mean a few months…or even the past year.  I’m thoroughly fed up of always feeling down, but I can’t seem to shift it.  Of course it fades when I’m out having fun, doing things I love, like visiting the zoo, or watching the All Blacks, but it’s only temporary and I know that the feeling will be back the next day, which is frustrating.  I’ve tried not to make it noticeable in my blog posts, but I’m not sure how well I’ve succeeded.  Anyway, in a vague attempt to improve things, I’ve come up with a new blog feature: Sunday Smiles.

It’s a simple and straightforward idea – basically I’ll list some of the things that have made me smile over the past week, whether they’re new discoveries, things I’ve read, or just pretty things I’ve seen.  I guess it’s similar to the “Friday Favourites” lists that I’ve seen on a few blogs (but since I tend to post a recipe on Fridays, that doesn’t really work for me).  The point is basically to focus on good things, happy things.  Oh, and I’ll post it every Sunday.  See?  Simple!  Do let me know what you think – good idea or not really that interesting and rather self-indulgent?

So for this week, my Sunday Smiles are:

  • Google released Street View for Antarctica on Wednesday.  This is totally utterly amazing and full of totally educational procrastination potential…  I love that you can see inside some of the research stations.  And the penguin colonies, of course.  Antarctica fascinates me and I would absolutely love to go there, but only ever as a scientist, since I firmly believe that no tourism should be allowed in Antarctica whatsoever.  The only flaw in this plan is that there aren’t any elasmobranchs in Antarctica (that we know of).  So I’m not sure how I’d ever wrangle that one…
  • I picked up these roses at the farmers’ market that I went to last weekend.  I love roses (as corny and cliché as that may be), and I really loved the dusky and faded “old rose” look of these ones.  I nearly always have flowers or plants in the flat because I find that they really brighten things up, but I’m not very good at keeping them alive…

  • One of my highlights of the week remains my Kiwi labmates’ reaction to the kumara and chocolate cookies that I made the other day – I’m still not over their genuine surprise and excitement at the concept of using kumara (sweet potato) in cookies
  • I made macarons for the first time since moving to New Zealand yesterday, and thus the first time with my oven here – and they worked!  Ok, so the feet could have been a little more developed, but I’m still happy with them.  I only had time to make the shells yesterday and will be making the ganache filling later today, but feel free to guess the flavour based on the shells…  They’re a little more purple in real life.  Clue: they’re alcohol-based.  Ok, that wasn’t much of a clue since nearly all the macarons that I make are alcohol-based.  Better clue: the alcohols involved will be covering my entries to both this month’s We Should Cocoa challenge (ingredient: black currant) and AlphaBakes (letter: W).  Can you guess?  All will be revealed in Tuesday’s blog post…

What made you smile this week?

10 Comments

Filed under Sunday Smiles

10 responses to “Introducing a new blog feature: Sunday Smiles

  1. I think Sunday Smiles is a great idea, especially if it helps you remember what makes you happy! Those macarons looks amazing with the swirls, I’m looking forward to your post on them. At least you can be happy knowing that when you eventually get around to having a summer it’s guaranteed to be warm and sunny, unlike in the UK!

    • Mel

      Thanks Janine! That’s a very good point – the summer here is definitely something to look forward to! And by all accounts it seems that my winter is a bit better than the summer you guys are having, so I can’t complain too much.

  2. Good idea Mel, in fact, essential I’d say. And when you feel really shit, and don’t even want to write your Sunday post because after a little while it seems stupid or pointless or whatever, do it ANYWAY. Seriously. I’m familiar with how you feel. Oh, and go swimming. And maybe go talk to a professional.

    • Mel

      Thanks!! That’s really encouraging. I definitely agree about the swimming – I really miss it. Luckily there’s a public pool not too far from my flat that has just reopened after extensive renovation, so I’m looking forward to checking that out next weekend. I think it’ll help a lot.

  3. Great idea! Great Roses! I’m smiling now!

  4. strongassoup

    I like the idea of Sunday Smiles. I’m really sorry you’ve been feeling down – I know so well how draining that can be. Could we be talking crème de cassis on the macaron front? Well, even if we’re not just the thought of them has made me want to go and get a kir and that can’t be bad.

    • Mel

      Thanks Phil! We could indeed maybe possibly be talking crème de cassis… And perhaps even in the form of a kir… Which is always an excellent idea!

  5. Pingback: Cocktail in a Macaron: Kir | Sharky Oven Gloves

  6. Pingback: Sunday Smiles: 29 July 2012 | Sharky Oven Gloves

Share your thoughts…

