Breakfast Club #18: Banana & hazelnut porridge

It seems that the only recipes getting posted this month are those that I’m submitting to blog challenges, and this one is no different.  But I have the excuse that I’m relocating to the other side of the world (in precisely two weeks today!!) so I’m a little bit busy with other things at the moment.  Today’s blog post is no different – it’s my entry to this month’s Breakfast Club, being hosted by Aimée at Food, Je t’Aimée, who has chosen the theme of “January detox” to compensate for all the Christmas over-indulgence.  Now, the thing I associate most with detox is a smoothie.  Probably because it’s usually packed full of fruit and super healthy.  But all the berries that I would normally look for in a smoothie are completely out of season and I really don’t like smoothies for breakfast anyway, mostly because I get hungry about an hour later.  So, I decided to go for something vaguely healthy but filling, which is always good, because it means you don’t snack before lunch.  And what could be more filling and wintery than porridge?

Using skimmed milk makes this porridge a little healthier, and the banana is a portion of fruit, which is always good.  The hazelnuts add a lovely little crunch, plus nuts are healthy (can you tell that being healthy isn’t my strong point?  Ya, nuts are healthy, there’s fruit, use skimmed milk: totally counts as a detox!).  If I’d been really organised, I could have tried this out for breakfast yesterday and posted it for Burns Night, since porridge is vaguely Scottish and all (as are bananas, ahem.  In some alternate universe…).  It would have been slightly less of a tenuous link than my honey, lemon and chocolate muffins for Chinese New Year.  But I wasn’t organised, and plus I’m not really a fan of Burns Night.  Well, that’s not really true, it’s an excellent excuse for a dinner party, but other than that, I’m not really going to go out of my way to celebrate it.  Anyway, I digress.  This made a rather delicious breakfast – porridge might not be your first choice for a detox, but at least you won’t be snacking before lunch, and it’s not a fatty or super-sugary breakfast either.  And it’s important to have a proper breakfast to start off the day anyway!

Banana & hazelnut porridge

Serves 1
Adapted from BBC Good Food

I used whole milk, but skimmed or semi-skimmed milk would work fine as well if you want to make the porridge slightly healthier.  Adding raisins or seasonal fruits at the end would work well, too, and up the fruit content.  Everybody likes their porridge to be a different level of sweetness, so the honey will be very much to your taste.

Ingredients

35g porridge oats
200ml milk
1 banana
1-2 tbsp chopped hazelnuts
Clear honey, to taste
Cinnamon, to taste

Directions

1.  Thinly slice the banana.

2.  Add the oats and milk to a small saucepan, along with half the sliced banana and simmer over a gentle heat, stirring occasionally (apparently stirring anti-clockwise brings bad luck – I haven’t tested the theory, but you’ve been warned, duhn duhn duhn…) until thickened to your liking.

3.  Remove from the heat, pour into a bowl, top with the remaining banana slices, a drizzle of honey, the chopped hazelnuts and a light dusting of cinnamon.

Enjoy!

8 Comments

Filed under Recipes, Sweet Foods

8 responses to “Breakfast Club #18: Banana & hazelnut porridge

  1. Ha! Despite my chosen theme, being healthy isn’t my forte either ;) I love this kind of breakfast! Not an ounce of guilt, but all the flavour and goodness of a complete, filling breakfast. Perfect for winter. Good luck with your big move! :)

    • Mel

      Thanks, I’ll be needing all the luck I can get! I enjoyed the challenge (good choice!), though I’m glad I’m not the only one who isn’t so great at being healthy, haha!

  2. love it! I’m one of those people who must have breakfast, and something warm, oozy like porridge is especially comforting to me. that looks great, i like to do it with coconut milk too, yum.

    • Mel

      Thanks! I agree – I definitely cannot skip breakfast, and warming breakfasts are definitely welcome during winter!! I’m sure coconut milk would work wonderfully – I’m not really a fan of the flavour of coconut milk, so I would never have thought of using it! Do let me know how it works out if you try it though.

  3. Yep, porridge is my chosen breakfast. And I think you’re right that it’s healthy since it stops me snacking mindlessly only an hour later. I have also started making pancakes with oatmeal and that seems to do the trick as well.

    Your upcoming move sounds very exciting! Best wishes with the packing and planning.

    • Mel

      Anything that keeps me full until lunch time is good – as soon as I feel a bit hungry I totally lose concentration and can’t get anything done until I’ve snacked on something, which is obviously not ideal and doesn’t feel terribly healthy, even if I try and snack on dried fruit or nuts or something vaguely healthy.

      Thanks, I think I need all the luck I can get for the move, haha!

  4. Oh my goodness I ADORE porridge. I so don’t think of it as healthy, detox food though – I top mine with poached fruit or berries or other lovely things, so it actually feels like I’m eating a dessert for breakfast!

    • Mel

      Oooo adding poached fruit sounds like a great idea! I love porridge but I make it far less often than I should. I think I need to change that…

Share your thoughts…

